Amidst mounting apprehension surrounding the federal administration’s projected deportation and immigration policies, states and local government agencies have taken it upon themselves to declare themselves a “sanctuary” for immigrants and refugees.
Senate Bill 54, authored by Senator Kevin De Leon, would establish the entire state of California a “sanctuary” by prohibiting state and local “law enforcement agencies from cooperating with federal immigration agents.” The bill has passed the Senate Committee on Public Safety and was revised in the Senate Appropriations Committee and will be up for a full vote on the Senate floor in the near future.
In addition to the legislative approach, a number of local agencies across the state have sought to establish a similar policy within their borders. Following the off-cycle elections in Los Angeles County, a slew of local government agencies across the state joined the growing movement to adopt a “sanctuary” policy or express explicit support for neighboring cities and counties who have adopted a policy.
To date, California City News has compiled a list of cities and counties who have passed these or similar resolutions: (


Alameda County
Contra Costa County
Los Angeles County
Monterey County
Napa County
Orange County
Riverside County
Sacramento County
San Bernardino County
San Diego County
San Francisco County
San Mateo County
Santa Clara County
Santa Cruz County
Sonoma County
Alameda - Alameda County
Baldwin Park - Los Angeles County
Berkeley - Alameda County
Cudahy - Los Angeles County
Davis - Yolo County
Emeryville - Alameda County
La Puente - Los Angeles County
Los Angeles - Los Angeles County
Malibu - Los Angeles County
Maywood - Los Angeles County
Oakland - Alameda County
Petaluma - Sonoma County
Santa Ana - Orange County
Santa Rosa - Sonoma County
Watsonville - Santa Cruz County